Cathedraticum

As of 2020, the cathedraticum is a 15.5% assessment on parish income such as Sunday offertory and building fund collections for the previous fiscal year.

Non-assessable income is from jamaicas, fundraisers, insurance recoveries, grants, DCA payments, and second collections.

Parishes are billed for the entire year's assessment each July. The parish decides on payment arrangements to ensure the total is paid by June 30.

What does the cathedraticum fund?
The cathedraticum funds the administrative departments of the diocese:

Clergy - Admin
Finance Office
Catholic Renewal Center 
Office of the Bishop
Facilities
Chancellor 
Administration of the Annual Catholic Offering for Ministries 
Parish Administration
Development
Tribunal office
Catholic Pastoral Center 
Bishop s Residence
Dues, Memberships, Gifts 
Deposit and Loan
The Joan Patton Finance Center 
Bishop Emeritus
Vicar General

The cathedraticum was established in 2020 because the DCA was unable to fund the diocese. The Diocese of Lubbock continued to operate with a line of credit.

Bishop Coerver implemented a cathedracdium to cover necessary administrative expenses. The DCA was abolished and replaced with the Annual Catholic Offering for Ministries. 

Office of Finance & Accounting

Contact Information

 B. Marty Martin
Chief Financial Officer
Phone: 
806-792-3943 Ext. 212
 mmartin@catholiclubbock.org
Virginia Scherpereel
Executive Assistant to the Finance Office and Coordinator of the Catholic Renewal Center
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 216
vscherpereel@catholiclubbock.org
Katie Thompson 
Employee Benefits, Payroll, and Accounts Receivable Coordinator
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 213
kthompson@catholiclubbock.org


Jeannie Rodriguez
Accounts Payable
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 215
 jeannier@catholiclubbock.org



Nitsuh Agaje
Parish Accounting
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 246
 nitsuh@catholiclubbock.org
Joseph Segura 
Parish Accounting
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 217
jsegura@catholiclubbock.org
Juan Carlos Martinez
Parish Accounting
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 206
 jmartinez@catholiclubbock.org
Rachel Martinez 
Director of Stewardship & Development
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 207
rmartinez@catholiclubbock.org
Deacon Martin Miranda  
Facilities Manager
Phone: 806-792-3943 Ext. 228
mmiranda@catholiclubbock.org